I Worked Out Everyday for a Year

In January 2019, I made myself a goal I thought it was impossible to achieve.

I had seen people do weekly challenges, even monthly challenges, but haven’t seen a yearly challenge on youtube. So a crazy idea came into my head. From the first of January 2019 to my birthday on 31st December 2019, I’ll exercise every single day, 365 days straight.

I have always been an active person, I love cycling and running ever since I was 15 years old. But I had no idea how my body would react after doing it everyday for a year. Will my body be too exhausted? It was a scary thought, but the idea of achieve something I had never done before was thrilling and that’s what kept me going.

I had lots of support from my family and my friends at university too. I trained with SMU Aquathlon and they always put a smile on my face every time I see them at the pool or on the track. The team was a huge motivation booster for me when I was putting excuses in my head not to go for training.

SMU Aquathlon trains on Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays. On days where we didn’t have trainings, a handful of us would meet up after school to go to the gym or a run.

The worst days came when the fatigue builds up from the previous days and my legs were super tired to move. I always had to remind myself that I have come so far already so I had to get your lazy ass off my bed and exercise otherwise I’ll regret it.

Thankfully, having a stationary bike trainer and a treadmill at home saved me from the weather outside on many occasions. I wouldn’t have completed the challenge if it weren’t for that.

All my training data is on Strava. It helps me keep track of my workouts and also follow my friends workouts.

So in 2019, I had ran a total of 2377.3 km with a total time of 205 hours and 28 minutes. I cycled a total of 6406 km with a total time of 307 hours and 46 minutes. I swam a total of 200.7 km with a total time of 57 hours and 2 minutes.

Swim, bike and run combined, I did 571 hours of training in total and moved 8997 km. My biggest month of training was May of 62 hours and my smallest month was October, at 34 hours.

But now, I’m finally able to say I achieved it. Not many people in the world can say that. Yeah, I’m pretty proud of myself for that and I haven’t stopped yet. I got the same goal of exercising everyday in 2020 as well.

I hope that maybe this video could inspire some people to do the same. So if you’re up for it, why not take the challenge up? If you enjoyed this video and wanna see more training videos, feel free to like and subscribe to my channel and I will see you soon. Bye!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.